I Regret Creating SARS In 1984 — Former CP Fulani Kwafaja

A retired Commissioner of Police, Fulani Kwajafa, has expressed regrets for establishing the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) of the Nigeria Police Force. . . Kwajafa while speaking in an interview with BBC Hausa said the unit had completey derailed from its founding objectives. . . “I entered the Nigeria Police Force in 1984. Then robbery was prevalent. Buhari, the then Head of State, got a lot of complaint. He told me and Mr Inyang, the then IGP, that we must do something about it or be fired. . . Mr Inyang called me and told me to come up with a plan to save the country from thieves, so I said okay. . . After four months of creating SARS, there was peace, those who were not caught ran, and those who were caught were sent to prison. . . This thing frustrates me, there is no reason why because someone commits a crime that the person should be killed. There are laws and no one will give an order that if you see armed robbers kill the person. . . I’ve been hearing disheartening news, to the extent that…

List: Heads Of 17 Education Agencies Have Been Replaced With 17 Others

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday approved the appointment of 17 new chief executives of various parastatals under the Federal Ministry of Education.

The new appointees are Abubakar Rasheed (National Universities Commission); Lilian Salami (Nigerian Institute For Educational Planning and Administration); Hameed Boboyi (Universal Basic Education Board); Lanre Aina (National Library of Nigeria); Charles Uwakwe (National Examinations Council); Abba Haladu (National Commission For Mass Literacy, Adult And Non-Formal Education); Bashir Usman (Nomadic Education Commission); and Ifeoma Isiugo-Abanihe (National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB).

Others are Sunday Ajiboye (Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria); Afolabi Aderinto (Computer Registration Council of Nigeria); Bappah Aliyu (National Commission For Colleges of Education); Abdullahi Bichi Baffa (Tertiary Education Tax Fund); Garba Dahuwa Azare (National Teachers Institute); and Michael Afolabi (Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria).

Also appointed are Steven Ejugwu Onah (National Mathematical Centre, Sheda); Ishaq Oloyede (Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board); and Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche (National Institute of Nigerian Languages).

A statement by a deputy director in the ministry, Benjamim Goong, said the new chief executives had been invited to meet with the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, on Tuesday.

Mr. Goong also said four heads of parastatals under the ministry were retained. They are Samaila Junaidu of Nigeria Educational Research & Development Council; Raaufu Adebisi of Nigerian French Language Village Badagry; Mas’ud A. Kazaure of National Board For Technical Education; and Muhammad Mu’az of National Arabic Language Village, Maiduguri, Borno State.